TOW the Butt

This is a very important episode for tons of lame reasons I just now made up.  First of all, it’s the first episode that doesn’t start with them chatting about random stuff at Central Perk. Second of all, Rachel doesn’t wear a single denim vest.  Third, I THINK it’s the first time Chandler delivers a line with his classic emphasis on “be.” Big things are happening here, folks.

The title of the episode comes from Joey’s plot. He’s in a play at the beginning. Here’s everyone’s reaction to his play.

Screen Shot 2015-05-12 at 12.17.43 AM

And before I go any further, Matt LeBlanc recently recreated Joey’s big musical number from this episode, and it’s incredibly important that we all watch it.

I’m impressed that he remembered it. I mean, I’m sure he’s seen it since then, but it’s from the first season. Twenty-one years ago. And while it’s a really funny song, it’s not one of the most memorable moments of the series.

Screen Shot 2015-05-12 at 12.17.30 AM

Anyway, there’s apparently an agent in the audience who wants to take on Joey. This is our first mention of Estelle. We don’t actually see or hear her, though. Estelle gets Joey a part on a movie…as Al Pacino’s butt double. In case you were curious, I’ve decided based on imdb, that the movie must have been either Heat or Two Bits. I’ve seen neither, so I don’t know if Al Pacino needed a butt in either. He’s a little embarrassed by the whole thing, but excited for the opportunity. Unfortunately, he’s a little too enthusiastic, and the director thinks his butt is acting too much.  He loses the job. Here he is acting for his butt role.

Screen Shot 2015-05-12 at 12.41.59 AM

Chandler meets a girl at Joey’s play. She’s way out of his league. You can tell this because her name is Aurora. They go out, and he finds out that she’s actually married.

Ooooh gif

And she also has a boyfriend.

WHAT gif

Chandler decides to go out with her anyway. Apparently all three men know about each other, and they’re all fine with it. Chandler is fine with it, too, until a fourth man is added.

Finally, Rachel cleans the apartment and moves “the green ottoman.” Monica freaks out a little which leads the rest of them to make fun of her OCDness. She tries to deny it, but ends up realizing she is a little anal.

Why would someone do that GIF

Funny story.  I had a friend who was telling us once about how she had to clean up her classroom for some kind of official visitors. She said, and I quote…”I was sweeping anally.”  It’s still the funniest thing I’ve ever heard in my life. I’m sitting here laughing about it again. Anyway, Monica tries to relax a little, but she is not successful.

Random comments from the episode…

Joey mentions that his current play is better than the thing he did with the trolls. I was going to make a snarky comment about that being a dig at Jennifer Aniston in the movie Troll, but that was Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Jennifer Aniston did Leprechaun. Aren’t you glad I shared that even though it doesn’t work at all?

Aurora mentions that she and her husband ended up in Yemen. The only thing I know about Yemen is that Chandler pretends to move there in a few seasons.  I did a report on Yemen in the 7th grade. Chandler is still the only thing I know about Yemen.

When Chandler explains his dating situation to the Friends, Monica is by far the most appalled. This stands out to me because of the eventual Monica/Chandler relationship.

Phoebe mentions having once lived with Monica. I believe that’s the first time it’s mentioned. She also does this:

Phoebe Slasher Gif

Ross bores everyone.

Snore

Chandler walks in on Joey in Monica’s bathroom doing something to make his butt ready for the movie.  He yells, “My eyes! My eyes!” I hope I remember that when Phoebe does it in Season 5.

My eyes gif

Chandler has Howdy Doody in his bedroom.

Screen Shot 2015-05-12 at 12.43.57 AM

Phoebe gives Joey a great pep talk at the end. She’s so the best at that

At the very beginning, this is how they clap for Joey’s play. This is how I feel every time I have to clap for something.

Applause

Chandler does this at one point. This will be important in several seasons if I still remember it.

Chandler's face gif

Favorite Quotes

You always see these really beautiful women with these really nothing guys. You could be one of those guys!”

“Based on this play?  …  Based on this play!” (this one totally doesn’t work out of context, so you’ll have to trust me)

“Could she BE any more out of my league?”

Leave a Reply

